A warning for season pushers everywhere

Pushing the fall season in fashion has become a widespread epidemic in my high school.

It has been autumn for a week now. We all understand that everyone is excited for feeling the crisp fall air on their cheeks, sitting around a fire, drinking hot chocolate, and all of those other cliche things teenage girls think they’re going to do once fall rolls around (like cuddling, WHY?). However, we can’t just pretend fall is truly here just because our calendars say so. For the past few days, New York has been at least seventy degrees by the afternoon. I’m sorry to break it to all of you, but if it’s not cool enough to drink hot chocolate around the campfire, it is certainly not cold enough to break out your new fall clothing.

Every night before going to sleep, I check the weather forecast and plan my outfit for the following day. I hate to admit that it has taken me up to an hour to decide on an outfit, but it takes effort to look cute! Anyway, I look at the weather because 1. I don’t want to be uncomfortable (too hot or too cold) during the day at school and 2. I hate to waste great outfits for cold weather on hot days, and vice versa. Apparently I am the only girl at my school who even thinks to check the weather forecast.

A “season pusher” is someone who is so excited for a new season that they will wear that season’s fashions at even the slightest change in temperature outside. For example, when the temperature recently fell under seventy degrees (it was 68 degrees to be exact) for the first time this school year, everyone felt that they should wear their new fall clothing. I noticed sweatshirts, boots, cardigans, sweatpants, and…Uggs. For the record, I don’t think it is the best fashion statement to wear Uggs when it is below freezing in January. But in 68 degree weather, wearing Uggs is just downright dangerous. Each time I saw a girl wearing Uggs, all I could think of was how hot their feet must have been. Your feet are tortured enough by wearing those furry boots, do you need to hurt them even more by wearing them in hot weather? Please don’t abuse your feet, they’re the only ones you’ll ever have, and I’m not just saying that because I don’t like Uggs.

I am writing this blog post for all of you season pushers because I am truly worried about you. I don’t want you to hurt yourselves by overdressing in your “fabulous” fall wardrobe. The next time you’re picking out your outfit, look at the weather forecast and ask yourself, “Do I really want to wear a fleece jacket in seventy degree heat?” I really hope your answer is no.  Maybe it’s just me, but I think it would be really awkward to be rushed to the hospital for wearing fleece.

Let's Talk